, , , , , , ,

Bobcat Goldthwait

You might be looking at this post and wondering what year it is. Well, it’s true that Bobcat hasn’t exactly been a household name since the early 90s (I was in kindergarten at the time). People my age (also likely the only people reading this, assuming anybody is reading at all) likely have no idea who he is. In fact, the only mainstream cultural reference about Bobcat I can think of was when he was made fun of on Family Guy, comparing him to 80s singer Bjork. But even though he’s clearly taken a step outside of the national conversation, his appearances on the Adam Carolla Podcast have been so entertaining that I felt it necessary to look into his history. And from what I found out, he’s not finished in Hollywood. In fact, he’s still extremely active.

Some Background: Bobcat (Robert) was born in Syracuse New York in 1962. His career started extremely early, and he was already a professional comedian by the time he was 15. By the time he was 18, he had formed The Generic Comics along with childhood friend Tom Kenny (who later went on to become the voice of SpongeBob SquarePants). From that point, Bobcat toured as a standup comedian for nearly 25 years until his retirement in 2005. During that time, he released two standup specials (Meat Bob (1988) and I Don’t Mean to Insult You, but You Look Like Bobcat Goldthwait (2003)). Bobcat appeared in a variety of movies in the 1980s at the top of his fame, including Police Academy, One Crazy Summer, Burglar, Hot to Trot, and Scrooged. Recently, Bobcat has mostly worked behind the cameras. From 2004 to 2006, he was a director for Jimmy Kimmel Live!, and has also directed for several other television shows such as Crank Yankers, The Man Show and Chappelle’s Show. He has also written and/or directed several movies, including Sleeping Dogs Lie, World’s Greatest Dad, and God Bless America. These do not even scratch the surface of the number of projects he’s touched, so for the interest of brevity, you can see the list in its entirety here.

It didn’t occur to me at first, or maybe even at second, but looking at Bobcat’s resume, he has been heavily involved in a LOT of projects over the course of his career, but more specifically, he’s been heavily involved with the people at JackHole Industries (which is to say, Adam Carolla and Jimmy Kimmel). Particularly considering how Adam didn’t even work in radio until 1994, it’s strange to think that a major entertainer from the 1980s would be included with such a “newer” brand like Adam and Jimmy. On the other hand, Adam and Jimmy didn’t really get their big breaks until they were in their 30s, and Bobcat, who started out much younger, is pretty much the same age as the two of them, so I suppose it makes sense when I think about it. Anyway, Bobcat isn’t on Adam’s podcast all that frequently, however he’s been tattooed into my psyche as a really funny guy after pretty much one thing he said. He was describing that he had been on a plane that had nearly crashed, which I was skeptical about. The way that he jumped out at me and both A.) made me realize this story was probably real, and B.) made me laugh out loud inappropriately, was when he said he overheard one flight attendant start crying and turn to another flight attendant, saying “Karen, I’ve always respected you as a professional…” Maybe that bit doesn’t jump out at you while it’s in text form like this, and maybe you wouldn’t get it anyway. But the point is, Bobcat has been a total animal (pun intended) in my mind after that.

This would be the portion of the blog post where I wrap up and tell you how to stay in touch with Bobcat, but he’s a dinosaur and I can’t. Why? The man does not have a twitter account. Worse still, he doesn’t even have a website (I couldn’t find one, anyway)! Maybe it has to do with him being a relic of the 80s, or maybe it has to do with him already being firmly established, or maybe it’s because he’s almost never in front of the camera anymore, or maybe it’s because he doesn’t own a computer. I have no idea. Either way, all I can do is link you to some of his work on Amazon. See that Bobcat? I’m trying! I’m also totally confident you’re never reading this, since you apparently hate technology! Damn it all.